Counterculture Con HQ

March 12, 2010

Atheist Jew Infiltrates Evangelical Church

An atheist infiltrates an evangelical church and is SHOCKED by what she discovers!

AN ATHEIST GOES UNDERCOVER IN AN EVANGELICAL CHURCH

My Sundays needed structure. No, I think my attraction to the church grew out of repulsion. I grew up thinking of myself as a born atheist, bristling at public expressions of faith, at being shoehorned “under God” by the Pledge of Allegiance. Berkeley was very accommodating of that attitude. For the most part, I didn’t have to deal with religion if I didn’t feel like it. And so from the vantage point of my little sliver of experience, I thought of our country as a pretty secular place.

The violent realization I had when I moved to Virginia for graduate school was that this is a very Christian country, with around a quarter of Americans self-identifying as evangelical. And in spite of my smug self-conception as a tolerant person, I had this calcified, unrecognized prejudice against evangelical Christians. Their politics angered me, their culture seemed silly. Most of all their vocal efforts to see the world converted to their views made me, frankly, afraid of them.

Around the time I was reckoning with this stuff, George W. Bush got re-elected, an event that was flat out unthinkable to me. The polls showed that an organized, mobilized block of evangelicals played an instrumental role in helping him secure that victory, and following the election there was an avalanche of media coverage about this scary, militaristic zombie-force of evangelicals bent on hijacking government.

So this made me feel entitled to answers: If evangelicals believed they not only had a right to meddle in what I believed, but also in how my government operated, I thought I had a right to know who they were.

Read the rest. You’ll be shocked at what she discovered too.  And please, do not neglect the comments section of that article.  As always, the comments are absolutely precious.

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you for letting us know about the very beautiful Miss Welch! I am sure her book will be very interesting reading.
    You were right, also, about the tenor of the comments at HuffPo. Linda Blair Syndrome right off the bat! And it descended from there. Soon, the ad hominem against anyone who showed tolerance for Christianity was run up the pole. To their credit, the “moderators” seemed to quell the worst of it, but it was there.

    Comment by Thorvald — March 13, 2010 @ 09:07


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

